Goals, Schmoals!

A big part of getting started with changing your life is setting goals.  Everyone has goals-these are the things-big and small-that set us in motion.  Whether we are looking to save money, buy a house, or get fit, we all have specific goals in mind for our lives.

But how many of us actually write them down?

In the past, I had written out my goals in a general sense.  They were:

-lose weight

-pay off our debt

-save money for a family vacation

My problem was even though I had written it down, I didn’t keep it in sight.  For whatever reason, I didn’t print out my goals and put them everywhere that I could see them!  I had them written down in a little notebook, whereabouts unknown.  I only looked at them occasionally.  And eventually, I would lose site of those goals and my efforts would grind to a halt.

But how do you set goals and maintain your focus?

Whenever you ask yourself what you want to achieve from your fitness program, instead of giving a vague answer like “I want to lose weight”, we need to strip it down to the details.  Some of the questions that can help us do that are:

How many pounds do you want to lose?

What size clothes do you want to wear?

What clothing store do you want to shop in?

We all have a big goal, the holy grail, if you will, of what our ideal weight should be, where we want to shop, and how we want to look. Last week, I shared some tools that I used to find my ideal weight, so I know I need to be looking at losing 75 lbs.  Now, I’m going to break that down into “mini goals” that will help my achieve this.

ULTIMATE GOAL

I want to lose 75 lbs

I want to be wear single digit sizes

I want to be healthy and a good role model for my kids

ULTIMATE REWARD

I will buy a new wardrobe from my dream stores: Banana Republic, New   York & Co., The Loft

I will give away all my “big clothes” to a local charity

MONTHLY GOALS

I will lose 8 lbs this month

I will learn 5 new healthy recipes my family will eat AND love

I will be able to run 1 mile without stopping

MONTHLY REWARDS

I will download 2 new songs from iTunes for every 4 lbs I lose

I will treat myself to a spa pedicure

I will buy new food storage containers to help me store healthy   grains and snacks in the pantry

WEEKLY GOALS

I will work out 5 times this week

I will not drink any sodas this week

I will lose 2 lbs this week

I will eat clean this week

WEEKLY REWARDS

I will take the money I saved on groceries not buying processed foods   and buy a new book

I will treat myself to a movie with my family on Sunday

I will spend 2 hours crafting to my heart’s content

DAILY GOALS

I will drink Shakeology every day

I will make time for my workouts

I will drink 2 bottles of water every day

I will log all my food in my food diary

DAILY REWARDS

I will veg out and watch my favorite TV show in the evening.

I will make time for myself and read for an hour uninterrupted.

I will bask in the smug glow of my own self-satisfaction

Key points:

WRITE DOWN your goals!  Print them out, post them everywhere! Set reminders on your phone, so you see those goals every hour.

No goal is too big-but be realistic!  You can’t healthily lose 30 lbs in 30 days.  Set your sights high!

Leave a Reply

